Team Spirit Crowned Champions of PGL Wallachia Season 1
Dota 2Dota 2

Team Spirit Crowned Champions of PGL Wallachia Season 1

On the evening of May 19, PGL Wallachia Season 1 concluded with a total prize pool of $1 million. Team Spirit emerged as the champions, winning their first tournament since TI12.

Team Spirit finished the group stage of the tournament with a 3-1 record, losing only to Gladiators, and advanced to the double-elimination playoffs. On their way to the grand finals, the team defeated Aurora (2:1), but lost to Xtreme Gaming in the second round of the upper bracket with a score of 0:2, falling to the lower bracket.

In the lower bracket, Spirit sequentially defeated BOOM Esports (2:0), G2.iG (2:0), and in the lower bracket finals, Team Falcons (2:1).

Xtreme Gaming entered the grand finals without losing a single series at PGL Wallachia Season 1: the team advanced to the playoffs from the group with a 3-0 record and won all three playoff matches on their way to the grand finals with a score of 2:0. Xtreme Gaming defeated G2.iG, Team Spirit, and Team Falcons.

The PGL Wallachia Season 1 grand final was held in a best-of-5 format, and the series began with Xtreme Gaming winning the first map. After this, the teams traded victories: Spirit tied the series on the second map, Xtreme Gaming took the lead again after the third map, but Spirit tied the series again on the fourth map.

The decisive fifth map started well for Spirit: by the 16th minute, the team had a 7,000 gold advantage. In the mid-game, Xtreme Gaming managed to almost nullify this lead and even briefly took the net worth lead after several successful fights, but in the late game, Spirit regained their advantage and finished the 58-minute game with a victory.

The final series score was 3:2 in favor of Spirit.

The total prize pool of PGL Wallachia Season 1 was $1 million, with Spirit earning $300,000. Xtreme Gaming received $175,000 for second place.

The next tournament for Xtreme Gaming will be DreamLeague Season 23, starting on May 20. The next competition for Team Spirit has not yet been announced.